

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION III CHAMPIONSHIPS COMMITTEE MARCH 28, 2023, ELECTRONIC VOTE

ACTION ITEMS.

None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

1. In-region waiver requests. The Championships Committee during its March 22 videoconference considered but temporarily tabled requests from two institutions seeking in-region waivers for 2023 (Colorado College for men's and women's lacrosse and Emory University for women's tennis). While both institutions have been granted waivers in previous years, committee members were curious about why they are having trouble scheduling in-region contests and wanted more information about their efforts.

Staff corresponded with both institutions and received feedback. Based on the responses, the Championships Committee decided to grant both institutions their requests for the in-region waiver. However, the committee remains concerned with requests for in-region waivers in general, believing that the information provided sometimes does not allow the committee to determine whether an institution is making enough of a good-faith effort to overcome the scheduling challenges they face. Accordingly, the committee agreed to discuss during its June meeting what kind of documentation could be required for future requests that may better inform these decisions.

- 2. Future meeting/videoconference dates.
 - April 27, 11 a.m.-noon (monthly videoconference).
 - May 16, 11 a.m.-noon (monthly videoconference).
 - June 19-20 (quarterly meeting via videoconference).
 - September 11-12 (in-person meeting, Indianapolis).
 - February 5-6, 2024 (in-person meeting; Indianapolis).

Committee Chair: Chuck Mitrano, Empire 8

Staff Liaisons: Laura Peterson-Mlynski, Championships and Alliances

J.P. Williams, Championships and Alliances Julie Zike, Academic and Membership Affairs

NCAA Division III Championships Committee March 28, 2023, Electronic Vote

Attendees:

Chuck Mitrano, Empire 8.

Maureen Harty, College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin.

John Neese, Hardin-Simmons University.

Adaobi Nebuwa, Colby College.

NCAA Division III Championships Committee March 28, 2023, Electronic Vote Page No. 2

Karen Tessmer, Worcester State University.

Leonard Trevino, Chatham University.

Jason Verdugo, Hamline University.

Absentees:

None.

Guests in Attendance:

None.

NCAA Staff Support in Attendance:

Laura Peterson-Mlynski, Championships and Alliances.

J.P. Williams, Championships and Alliances.

Julie Zike, Academic and membership Affairs.

Other NCAA Staff Members in Attendance:

None.