

REPORT OF THE NCAA DIVISION III MANAGEMENT COUNCIL AND PRESIDENTS COUNCIL MARCH 1, 2024, VIDEOCONFERENCE

ACTION ITEMS.

• None.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS.

- **1. Welcome.** The virtual meeting commenced at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. Jim Troha, chair of the Division III Presidents Council, welcomed the councils.
- 2. Rosters. The council rosters were provided as information.
- 3. Division III financial analysis review update. The Deloitte consultants provided an update of its analysis of the division's finances. Based on interviews with key Division III stakeholders, engagement with the Division III Financial and Risk Management Working Group, the division's financial reports and market research, the consultants have identified four themes: improve financial posture, fund growth opportunities, invest in the student-athlete experience and design for threat resiliency. The consultants are identifying financial opportunities (direct and indirect), creating a playbook to address financial threats and mitigate risk, and will conduct a prioritization workshop with the Division III Financial and Risk Management Working Group in the coming weeks. The consultant's review and recommendations will be used as the councils finalize the division's FY25 and FY26 budget.
- **4. Legal update.** The NCAA office of legal affairs provided an update on recent court and state legal actions.
- 5. Additional business. There was no additional business.
- 6. Adjournment. The videoconference adjourned at 3:35 p.m.
- Council Chairs: Jim Troha, Juniata College, Landmark Conference. Lawrence Ward, Babson College, New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference.
- Staff Liaisons: Louise McCleary, Division III Governance Bill Regan, Division III Governance Eric Hartung, Division III Governance Jeff Myers, Academic and Membership Affairs Ali Spungen, Division III Governance

NCAA Division III Management and Presidents Councils March 1, 2024, videoconference

March 1, 2021, Viacoconterence
Attendees:
Joe Bednarsh, Yeshiva University, Skyline Conference.
Allan Belton, Pacific Lutheran University, Northwest Conference.
Pete Bothner, Nazareth College, Empire 8.
Jessica Brown, North Central College, College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin.
Marc Camille, Albertus Magnus College, Great Northeast Athletic Conference.
Bryan Coker, Maryville College (Tennessee), Collegiate Conference of the South.
Suzanne Davis, Greenville University, Saint Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.
Tom Di Camillo, State University of New York Athletic Conference.
Crystal Gibson, St. Mary's College of Maryland, United East Conference.
Sue Hasseler, Muskingum University, Ohio Athletic Conference.
Marisa Kelly, Suffolk University, Commonwealth Coast Conference.
Marybeth Lamb, Bridgewater State University, Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic
Conference.
Rob Larson, Luther College, American Rivers Conference.
Doug Lee, Waynesburg University, Presidents' Athletic Conference.
Carolyn Lepre, Salisbury University, Coast-To-Coast Conference.
Angela Marin, University of Texas at Dallas, American Southwest Conference.
Steve Mauro, Alfred State College, Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference.
Betsy Mitchell, California Institute of Technology, Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic
Conference.
Muthu Meenakshisundearam, University of Minnesota, Morris, Upper Midwest Athletic
Conference.
Milton Moreland, Centre College, Southern Athletic Association.
Adaobi Nebuwa, Colby College, New England Small College Athletic Conference.
Nicki Pieart, Lake Forest College, Midwest Conference.
Keiko Price, Emory University, University Athletic Association.
Ray Rice, University of Maine at Presque Isle, North Atlantic Conference.
Jim Troha, Juniata College, Landmark Conference.
Laura Trombley, Southwestern University, Southern Collegiate Athletic Association.
Jason Verdugo, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic
Conference.
Lawrence Ward, Babson College, New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference
Adam Weinberg, Denison University, North Coast Athletic Conference.
Absentees:
Jeff Abernathy, Alma College, Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association.
Joanne Berger-Sweeney, Trinity College (Connecticut), New England Small College Athletic
Conference.
Hiram Chodosh, Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges, Southern California
Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Mary-Beth Cooper, Springfield College, New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference.

Report of the NCAA Division III Management and Presidents Councils Videoconference March 1, 2024 Page No. 3

Kate Corcoran, Cabrini University, Atlantic East Conference. Julia Hathaway, Virginia Wesleyan University, Old Dominion Athletic Conference Jack Langan, Cornell College, Midwest Conference. Holly Sheilley, Transylvania University, Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference. Bill Stiles, Alvernia University, Middle Atlantic Conference. Melinda Treadwell, Keene State University, Little East Conference Renee Wachter, University of Wisconsin Superior, Upper Midwest Athletic Conference. Brian Wigley, Shenandoah University, Old Dominion Athletic Conference. **Guests in Attendance:** Margaret Fletcher, Kat Harwood, Taylor Katz and Andrew Selby (Deloitte). **NCAA Staff Liaisons** Eric Hartung, Louise McCleary, Jeff Myers, Bill Regan, Ali Spungen. **Other NCAA Staff Members** Mark Aiken, Corey Berg, Katie Mucci, Laura Peterson-Mlynski, Lisa Rogers, Jared Tidemann and

JP Williams.